Category: General Fiction

Sort

Showing 1-20 of 1145

Image for Farm Wives & Other Iowa Stories

Farm Wives & Other Iowa Stories

By: Abel, Marianne [Editor]; Bahr, Joann H. [Illustrator];

Price: $1.99

Publisher: Parkersburg, IA, Mid-Prairie Books: 1995-01-01

Seller ID: 024891

ISBN: 0931209579

Condition: Good


138 pages; edge wear; View more info

Image for Second Chances

Second Chances

By: Adams, Alice

Price: $1.49

Publisher: New York, Fawcett: 1989-05-29

Seller ID: 033280

ISBN: 044914612X

Condition: Good


spine creasing, edge wear; Her first novel since her bestselling breakthrough with Superior Women, Alice Adams again appeals to there were six friends who lived in a beautiful town in the hills of south San Francisco. They thought they would be young forever, but now the awareness of growing older leaves them stunned. View more info

Image for Bedroom Tramp

Bedroom Tramp

By: Adams, Bill

Price: $5.99

Publisher: New York, Playtime Reading: 1962

Edition: First Edition

Seller ID: kb003814

Condition: Very Good


light edge wear; ''The good life was expensive - you had to pay for it one way or another - being a call-girl was easy.. and sometimes even fun.'' Playtime #603 View more info

Image for Nothing but the Right Thing: A Novel

Nothing but the Right Thing: A Novel

By: Adams, Stacy Hawkins

Price: $1.99

Publisher: Grand Rapids, Revell: 2006-04-01

Seller ID: 032103

ISBN: 0800730976

Condition: Very Good


edge wear, some sticker residue on front cover; In her heartwarming second novel, the award-winning author of "Speak to My Heart" explores the journey of faith, friendship, and the power of prayer. View more info

Image for The Leaf Against the Sky

The Leaf Against the Sky

By: Ader, Paul

Price: $30.00

Publisher: New York, Crown Publishers: 1947

Seller ID: kb011646

Condition: Very Good


311 pages; spine lightly cocked; light edge wear, corners bumped; jacket has numerous small tears and chips; John Perry had been strictly raised in the Methodist faith by his austere father, who had spent his life bringing the citizens of North Carolina to the Lord. But when the family moved to the aging Dr. Perry's last pasonage in the town of Macon, John was abruptly introduced to a new and wholly different world. View more info

Image for When You Read This: A Novel [Advance Uncorrected Proofs]

When You Read This: A Novel [Advance Uncorrected Proofs]

By: Adkins, Mary

Price: $9.99

Publisher: New York, Harper: 2019-02-05

Edition: First Edition

Seller ID: 034625

ISBN: 0062834673

Condition: Near Fine


Advance Uncorrected Proofs to the first edition in trade paperback format. A comedy-drama for the digital age: an epistolary debut novel about the ties that bind and break our hearts, for fans of Maria Semple and Rainbow Rowell. Iris Massey is gone. But she's left something behind. For four years, Iris Massey worked side by side with PR maven Smith Simonyi, helping clients perfect their brands. But Iris has died, taken by terminal illness at only thirty-three. Adrift without his friend and colleague, Smith is surprised to discover that in her last six months, Iris created a blog filled with sh... View more info

Image for A Visit Home: A Novel

A Visit Home: A Novel

By: Aitken, Will

Price: $3.99

Publisher: New York, Simon & Schuster: 1993-02-01

Edition: First Edition

Seller ID: 038652

ISBN: 067174707X

Condition: Very Good


light edge wear to boards and jacket; A compelling, disturbing novel of one man's coming to terms with the truth of childhood abuse and the effect it has on those around him. Daniel's life was good--he had a happy marriage and a satisfying job--until memories of his father's abuse began coming back to him in knifelike thrusts. A Visit Home is the wrenching story of his confrontation with his father. View more info

Image for The Long Way Home

The Long Way Home

By: Alan Ebert; Janice Rotchstein

Price: $2.49

Publisher: New York, Crown: 1984-07-04

Edition: First Edition

Seller ID: 032766

ISBN: 0517553651

Condition: Very Good


tear in top edge of back of jacket, some edge wear and light soiling to jacket and boards; They were the Tiernans, the second generation of an American dynasty that had forged its legend in the worlds of stage, screen, politics, and history. Shattered by an unjust war, at odds with one another and with themselves, each of the Tiernans embarks on a journey, searching for love, for purpose, for inner peace... View more info

Image for Honeymoon Hotel

Honeymoon Hotel

By: Albert, Marvin H.

Price: $4.99

Publisher: New York, Dell: 1964

Seller ID: 034044

Condition: Good


hinge crease, light edge wear; Based on the MGM movie starring Robert Goulet, Nancy Kwan, Robert Morse and Jill St. John. View more info

Image for The Five People You Meet in Heaven

The Five People You Meet in Heaven

By: Albom, Mitch

Price: $0.99

Publisher: New York, Hyperion: 2003-09

Seller ID: kb015294

ISBN: 0786868716

Condition: Very Good


196 pages; some light edge wear; Killed in a tragic accident, Eddie, an elderly man who believes that he had an uninspired life, awakens in the afterlife, where he discovers that heaven consists of having five people explain the meaning of one's life. View more info

Image for Little Women (Signet Classics)

Little Women (Signet Classics)

By: Alcott, Louisa May; Straight, Susan [Afterword]

Price: $0.99

Publisher: New York, Signet Classics: 2004-04-06

Seller ID: 039423

ISBN: 0451529308

Condition: Good


slight moisture wrinkling to corner of last 50 pages; In picturesque 19th-century New England, tomboyish Jo, beautiful Meg, fragile Beth, and romantic Amy come of age while their father is off to war. View more info

Image for The Fifth Seal

The Fifth Seal

By: Aldanov, Mark

Price: $3.00

Publisher: New York, Charles Scribner's Sons: 1943

Seller ID: 031205

Condition: Very Good


jacket is heavily edge-worn, large chip out of spine edge of rear face; boards have light edge wear, pages clean, binding tight. View more info

To Live as We Wish

By: Aldanov, Mark; Wreden, Nicholas [Translator]

Price: $15.00

Publisher: New York, E. P. Dutton & Co.: 1952

Edition: First Edition

Seller ID: 025674

Condition: Very Good


512 pages; edge wear to boards, corners bumped; View more info

Image for The Man With The Golden Arm

The Man With The Golden Arm

By: Algren, Nelson

Price: $1.99

Publisher: New York, Fawcett Premier: 1970

Seller ID: 039303

Condition: Good


spine creasing, edge wear, pages tanned; Frankie Machine, a veteran of the Second World War, returns to Chicago's Northwest Side with a morphine habit. Nicknamed the 'kid with the golden arm', he is an aspiring drummer by day and an illicit card-dealer by night. When he finally sees a chance for redemption, hard work and success, Frankie learns that the demons that chase him are not quite ready to let go. With honesty and compassion, Nelson Algren's critically acclaimed novel probes the lives of the displaced and dispossessed of post-war America. View more info

Image for Matters of the Heart

Matters of the Heart

By: Allen, Charlotte Vale

Price: $1.49

Publisher: New York, Berkley: 1986-03-01

Seller ID: 035539

ISBN: 0425086593

Condition: Good


spine creasing, edge wear; It is wartime England in 1940 and Frances Holden has gone subtly mad at the age of forty; her actions have consequences that reverberate through decades. A shocking, hateful yet clever woman, Frances manages to alienate everyone who cares for her, particularly her long-suffering husband Arthur and her oldest friend Mandy. Frances is especially cruel to her young daughter Hadleigh. When her appalling behavior results indirectly in the deaths of three people, matters reach crisis point and Frances is forcibly institutionalized. A carefully planned effort to take her ow... View more info

Image for Straight Through the Night: A Novel

Straight Through the Night: A Novel

By: Allen, Edward

Price: $3.99

Publisher: New York, Soho Press: 1989-01-01

Edition: First Edition

Seller ID: 038650

ISBN: 0939149192

Condition: Very Good


light edge wear to boards and jacket; tiny remainder mark on bottom page ends; Allen's novel is about flesh and love, despair and food, and anger. Wildly ambitious and daring, it is a high-wire act of a novel and literally brilliant with description, luminous insight and loony wit. View more info

Image for Toward the Morning

Toward the Morning

By: Allen, Hervey

Price: $4.00

Publisher: New York, Rinehart & Company: 1948

Edition: First Edition

Seller ID: kb012577

Condition: Very Good


458 pages; some edge wear to boards and spine tips; View more info

Image for The Pursuit of Happiness

The Pursuit of Happiness

By: Altebrando, Tara

Price: $0.99

Publisher: New York, MTV Books: 2006-03-07

Seller ID: 035153

ISBN: 1416513280

Condition: Very Good


light edge wear; Dressing up as an eighteenth century farm girl is not how Betsy Odell imagined spending the summer before her senior year of high school, but her history professor father insists she take a job at Morrisville Historic Village. To make matters worse, Liza Murphy, only the biggest freak from school - piercings, tattoos, bleached hair - works as a farm girl too. As far as Betsy can tell, her summer will be miserable and any chance of ever being popular is doomed. When tragedy strikes Betsy close to home, her boyfriend and 'friends' are nowhere to be found, and her job becomes a w... View more info

Image for American Literary Masters Volume Two

American Literary Masters Volume Two

By: Anderson, Charles R. (editor)

Price: $4.99

Publisher: New York, Holt, Rinehart, and Wilson: 1965

Seller ID: kb006155

Condition: Good


edge wear, boards lightly soiled. Stephen Crane, Henry Adams, Edwin Arlington Robinson, Robert Frost, Wallace Stevens, Hemingway, Thomas Wolfe, and more. View more info